Sign in
Download Opera News App



Health Living


Disease prevention and treatment

Temperature High, African Aeroplanes Blocked To Enter Britain

The governments of continental European nations on Friday imposed conditions to prevent the spread of a new strain of corona virus, which was discovered yesterday in South Africa.

First, Britain and 27 member states of the European Union (EU) banned flights from South Africa, Namibia, Zimbabwe, Botswana, Lesotho and Swaziland to prevent the spread of the new virus, Omicron. " not British nationals and Irish states, they will not be allowed to enter the country if they have been in those six southern African states 10 days ago.

"Any British and Irish nationals who arrive from those countries after 4am from Sunday, must go to quarantine for 10 days before being allowed to spend time with their families. "Those who arrive before that day must be detained at home for 10 days," said British Health Minister Sajid Javid.

Scientists in the United Kingdom, South Africa and the World Health Organization (WHO) have expressed fears that the virus is more dangerous than the Delta, which was discovered in India earlier this year.

"The state of emergency continues to understand the speed of its spread, and whether it can be controlled by vaccination," said Jennie Harries, head of the UK's Infectious Diseases Agency, in a statement.

Content created and supplied by: Mathee (via Opera News )

Britain European Union Lesotho South Africa Zimbabwe


Load app to read more comments