Sign in
Download Opera News App



3 Countries That Have The Same Name With Their Capital City

Every independent nation has a capital city that is a focal point of national life. At the absolute least, there must be a capital city for every sovereign nation. For instance, Abuja serves as the seat of government for Nigeria's federal government.

Yet, it's worth noting that the capital cities of various countries share their names. Let's narrow down the list of possible countries.


In the southern part of North America is the country of Mexico, whose formal name is the United Mexican States. It shares land borders with the United States to the north, Mexico to the south, the Pacific Ocean to the west, Guatemala, Belize, and the Caribbean Sea to the southeast, and the Gulf of Mexico to the east.

The capital city and the country share the same name, Mexico.

Because Mexico City is the name of the country's capital. The BBC has confirmed this to be the case.


There are three large countries that border Luxembourg: Belgium, France, and Germany. Most of the country is rural, with the Ardennes woodland and parks to the north, the Mullerthal region's rocky gorges to the east, and the Moselle river valley to the southeast. Luxembourg City, the country's capital, is known for its medieval walled district that overlooks a cliff face.


Panama is located on the isthmus that connects Central and South America. Through its length runs the Panama Canal, a marvel of human achievement that connects the Atlantic and Pacific oceans and makes the country an important shipping hub. Skyscrapers, casinos, and nightclubs stand in stark contrast to colonial structures in Panama City's Casco Viejo neighborhood and the rainforest of Natural Metropolitan Park.

Content created and supplied by: Melkynews (via Opera News )

Mexico North America Pacific Ocean United Mexican States United States


Load app to read more comments