Sign in
Download Opera News App

News Sports




FIFA World Cup

Reasons Why World Cup Was Never played in This Two Consecutive Terms

World Cup has been played since 1930. It's an international association football competition contested by the senior men's national teams of the members of the FIFA. FIFA is the global football governing body. The championship has been played after every four years since 1930 except 1942 and 1946 due to second world war.

The format involves a qualification phase, which takes place over the preceding three years, to determine which teams qualify for the tournament phase. In the tournament phase, 32 teams compete for the title at venues within the host nation over about a month. The host nation automatically qualifies.

As of the 2018 FIFA World Cup, twenty-one final tournaments have been held and a total of 79 national teams have competed. The trophy has been won by eight national teams. Brazil have won five times, and they are the only team to have played in every tournament. The other World Cup winners are Germany and Italy, with four titles each; Argentina, France, and inaugural winner Uruguay, with two titles each; and England and Spain, with one title each.

Qatar is hosting the 2022 tournament, and 2026 will be jointly hosted by Canada, the United States, and Mexico, which will give Mexico the distinction of being the first country to host games in three World Cups.

Content created and supplied by: djflykicks (via Opera News )

Brazil FIFA FIFA World Cup World Cup


Load app to read more comments