Sign in
Download Opera News App

News Sports




FIFA World Cup

World Cup Qatar 2022: Teams, groups, fixtures and more.

The FIFA World Cup Qatar 2022 will kick off as from 20th November to 18th December in Qatar. The draw for the World Cup group phase took place in Doha, Qatar, on April 1 2022 to set the stage for the tournament.

This will be the 22nd edition of the competition since it began and the first time played in the Arab world.

There are 64 matches set to be played and they will take place across eight stadiums namely ; Al Bayt stadium, Khalifa international stadium, Al Thumama stadium, Ahmad Bin Ali stadium, Lusail stadium, stadium 974, Education city stadium and Al Janoub stadium.

Here are the groups:

The group phase will be played as from 20th November to 2nd December. The knockout phase will begin with the round of 16 from 3rd to 6th December.

The quarter-finals will start on 9th and 10th December and semi-finals on 13th and 14th December.

Here are most world cup titles:

Brazil( 5)

Germany (4)

Italy ( 4)

Argentina ( 2)

France ( 2)

Uruguay ( 2)

England ( 1)

Spain ( 1)

Here are the previous champions:

2018: France

2014: Germany

2010: Spain

2006: Italy

2002: Brazil

1998: France

1994: Brazil

1990: Germany

1986: Argentina

1982: Italy

1978: Argentina

1974: Germany

1970: Brazil

1966: England

1962: Brazil

1958: Brazil

1954: Germany

1950: Uruguay

1938: Italy

1934: Italy

1930: Uruguay

Which team do you think will be crowned the winner this time round?

Well, time will tell and may the best team win.

Don't forget to comment, like , share and follow me for more updates.

Content created and supplied by: Eljoe (via Opera News )

Al Thumama Doha Khalifa Qatar World Cup


Load app to read more comments