Sign in
Download Opera News App

News Sports




FIFA World Cup

The Only 4 Euro Cup Winners To Have Failed To Qualify For FIFA World Cup In Football History

European Championship famously known as the Euro is the biggest International competition in Europe. The competition is always held after 4 years. There are the only 4 countries that won the European Championship but failed to qualify for FIFA World Cup.

1. Italy - They are the reighning champions of the European Championship having won the Euro 2020. They were eliminated by North Macedonia in the 2022 Europe World Cup Qualifiers play-offs. They lost 0-1 in the Semi-Finals.

2. Greece - They won the 2004 European Championship but failed to qualify for the 2006 FIFA World Cup. They finished fourth in group 2 of the 2006 Europe World Cup Qualifiers.

3. Denmark - After winning the Euro 1992 they were eliminated in the group stage of the 1994 Europe World Cup Qualifiers by finishing third in group 3.

4. Czechoslovakia - They failed to qualify for the 1978 FIFA World Cup after winning the 1976 European Championship.

Content created and supplied by: Odhiamboalphoncearnold (via Opera News )

Euro Europe World Cup Qualifiers European Championship FIFA World Italy


Load app to read more comments