Sign in
Download Opera News App

News Sports




FIFA World Cup

Why Argentina's Win Makes The Match Appear Rigged Despite Referee's Admission of Mistake [OPINION].

Szymon Marciniak, the official in charge of the World Cup final, is said to have acknowledged that he erred in Argentina's victory over France. According to the report, one of Marcinak's most stunning judgments was seeing right away that Marcus Thuram had dived into the box when the majority of onlookers assumed it was a penalty. 

His admission of a mistake brings to light all the other tournament blunders that went unnoticed, such as the fact that Otamendi was last man but was not carded for a foul on Kolo Muani that led to a penalty. For example, when Messi collided with Hernandez while winning a header just outside the Argentina box, he still awarded Argentina a free kick.

Fans may believe that the match was rigged because of all of these factors, yet the refereeing and VAR at the past World Cup in Russia were far superior. All of them raise the question of why, four years later, a significant portion of the refereeing was awful and VAR judgments appeared to be worse. 

It's a big moment for a referee and not only fans and players. Even though there were apparent errors in the largest game, it's fortunate that the refereeing overall was brought up to a respectable quality.

Content created and supplied by: Flincher_Nation_News (via Opera News )

Hernandez Messi Rigged Szymon Marciniak World Cup


Load app to read more comments