Sign in
Download Opera News App

News Sports




FIFA World Cup

The heroes rewarded in the Qatar world cup final

With seven goals at the 2022 FIFA World Cup, Kylian Mbappe won the Golden Boot title, while Lionel Messi received the award for the best player in the competition. Messi has earned the honor twice before, the first time being in 2014. 

At the awards presentation, Kylian Mbappe and Lionel Messi both received honors. 

Following the thrilling World Cup final at the Lusail Stadium in Qatar, Kylian Mbappe and Lionel Messi were jointly recognized during the award ceremony for the 2022 FIFA World Cup. One of the greatest finals in the history of soccer included Messi and Mbappe as its heroes.

In the World Cup final since 1996, Mbappe became the first player to score a hat-trick, but his work was in vain. After 120 minutes of furious football, the score was tied 3-3 thanks to two goals by Messi. Mbappe received the Golden Boot award for the most goals scored during the competition, and Messi received the Golden Ball award for the best player. 

While Emi Martinez received the golden glove for best goalkeeper, Argentine midfield phenom Enzo Fernandez got the best young player title.

Content created and supplied by: Kipkiruing (via Opera News )

Kylian Mbappe Lusail Stadium Messi Qatar World Cup


Load app to read more comments