Sign in
Download Opera News App

News Sports

 

Soccer

 

La Liga

VAR Close Up That Shows Why Ecuador Goal Was Disallowed Against Qatar

Ecuador saw their first goal against Qatar chopped off by the VAR. This was questioned by many who probably didn't feel like it was an offside. But which rules are there that enabled this decision? From the photo above, the goalkeeper is heading for the ball while there are Qatar players behind him and so why is it an offside.

There is an Ecuadorian player whose foot is slightly behind the goalkeeper. He is an opponent player and the rules are that despite the fact that there are Qatar players behind the keeper, the goalie is always regarded as the last man in this case and so automatically he is the last man. The offside is therefore legitimate.

Qatar however took the lead via Valencia who had scored the initial goal that was chopped off. He scored from the penalty spot after a foul by the Qatar goalkeeper. First half ended 2:0 in favor of Ecuador.

Content created and supplied by: WillyKim (via Opera News )

Ecuador Ecuadorian Qatar VAR Valencia

COMMENTS

Load app to read more comments