Sign in
Download Opera News App



Yanga edge Mtibwa to wind up the season unbeaten

Yanga SC saw off Mtibwa Sugar by a solitary goal courtesy of Denis Nkaneon the final day of the Tanzanian Premier League at Benjamin Mkapa Stadium to finish their 2021/2022 Tanzania Premier League campaign unbeaten.

The Tanzanian giants were already crowned with matches to spare and even conducted their trophy tour and were out to end the season unbeaten.

Kenyan International Joash Onyango Their arch-rivals, Simba SC were held to a barren draw by Mbeya Kwanza on the road to finish the contest 13 points behind the champions with 61 points even as Kenyan international Joash Onyango featured in the match.

Azam FC hammered Biashara United 4-1 to seal the former's relegation fate on the final day but another Kenyan international in Kenneth Mugunamissed the win due to injury.

Geita Gold were held to a one-all draw by Coastal Union but the point will be enough to see them play in the CAF Confederation Cup albeit in the qualification round as they finished fourth behind Yanga, Simba, and Azam.

Mbeya City and Namungo FC also played to a 1-1 draw, as Kagera Sugar and Polisi Tanzania failed to find the back of the other's net and had to share the spoils without scores.

Dodoma FC saw off KMC by a solitary goal as Ruvu Shooting also won 1-0 in the contest with Tanzania Prisons.

Thus, Biashara United and Mbeya Kwanza drop to the second-tier after finishing 15th and 16th respectively while Mtibwa Sugar and Tanzania Prisons will play in the relegation-promotion playoffs.

Content created and supplied by: Nziokamuthin (via Opera News )

Azam FC Kenyan Mtibwa Tanzanian Yanga


Load app to read more comments