Sign in
Download Opera News App





Premier League

The eight times the Premier League title was decided on the final day

Despite of all the drama of Premier League seasons gone by, there have only been eight occasions where the Premier League title was decided on the final day.

Here are the eight seasons where the title was decided on the final day in Premier League history:


Blackburn Rovers travelled to Anfield on the final day, 14 May 1995, holding a two-point lead over Manchester United.

Sir Alex Ferguson's team had a superior goal difference and knew a win at West Ham United would seal a hat-trick of Premier League titles if Liverpool did them a rare favour by getting a result against Rovers.

Rovers went ahead at Anfield but the pressure got to Kenny Dalglish's leaders, who were beaten 2-1 by a 90th-minute Jamie Redknapp free-kick.

News leaked through to the Boleyn Ground, where United were still drawing 1-1 with West Ham, but knew a goal would crown them champions.

They threw everything at the Hammers' goal but could not find a way past an inspired Ludek Miklosko.

Blackburn lifted the Trophy at Anfield to claim their only Premier League title by a point. 


Manchester United had a two-point gap and travelled to Middlesbrough knowing a draw would likely be enough to crown them champions due to their superior goal difference.

Newcastle needed a home win against Tottenham Hotspur and had to hope the Red Devils suffered defeat, or a draw if they could beat Spurs by a big enough scoreline.

But Newcastle's dreams were dashed.

They fell behind at St James' Park and could only manage a 1-1 draw against Gerry Francis' side with Les Ferdinand getting the equaliser. 

And in the end it would not have mattered anyway, as goals by David May, Andrew Cole and Ryan Giggs secured a 3-0 win for Man Utd who won their third PL title by four points.


Manchester United held just a one-point lead over Arsenal with both title contenders playing at home on the final day. 

Reigning champions Arsenal had only surrendered top spot four days earlier when they lost 1-0 at Leeds United and Man Utd leapfrogged them with a point against Blackburn Rovers. 

It meant United, who hosted Tottenham Hotspur, only had to match or better Arsenal's result against Aston Villa to regain their fifth title from the Gunners.

Arsene Wenger's side were given hope when Spurs, their north London rivals, went ahead after 24 minutes at Old Trafford through Les Ferdinand.

But two great finishes either side of half-time from David Beckham and Andrew Cole completed a turnaround win that rendered Arsenal's 1-0 victory over Villa academic.


Manchester United went into the final day knowing a 10th PL title would be theirs if they could match the result of Chelsea.

But the momentum was with the second-placed Blues, who were 20 matches unbeaten and in Matchweek 36 had beaten United 2-1 at Stamford Bridge to move level on points with the leaders.

United, though, had a superior goal difference as they finished the season at Wigan Athletic while Chelsea were at home to a Bolton Wanderers side looking to secure their safety from relegation.

Sir Alex Ferguson's side struck the first blow when Christiano Ronaldo scored a penalty, before Chelsea responded by taking the lead in their match through Andriy Shevchenko.

But the title fully slipped away from Avram Grant's Blues in the final 10 minutes of both matches. 

Ryan Giggs doubled United's lead at the DW Stadium before Matthew Taylor equalised for Bolton in stoppage time, meaning that Chelsea finished as runners-up to Manchester United for successive seasons.


It was in Chelsea's' hands to end Manchester United's three-year reign as Premier League champions. 

The Blues were a point ahead of United who needed to better the leaders' result in order to become the first team in history to win four consecutive PL titles.

But Chelsea swept aside Wigan Athletic at Stamford Bridge, netting eight times including a Didier Drogba hat-trick, as Carlo Ancelotti's side set a record 103 goals scored in a single campaign. 

Manchester United themselves won 4-0 against Stoke City but it was not enough for a final day title-race turnaround.


Sergio Aguero produced probably the most iconic moment in the competition's history in the final match round seven seasons ago. 

With one fixture each remaining, Manchester City were above Manchester United on goal difference and knew a win would clinch their first-ever title. 

City were at home to Queens Park Rangers who were one spot and two points above the relegation zone, while United travelled to 11th-placed Sunderland.

Both title chasers took first-half leads, through Pablo Zabaleta and Wayne Rooney respectively, before the leaders were given a mighty shock. 

QPR scored twice and led 2-1 in stoppage time to leave United thinking the title was theirs.

But, sensationally, Edin Dzeko and Aguero both scored in stoppage time to give City the win they needed to lift the Trophy ahead of their local rivals.


City had won four matches in a row to go top by two points ahead of the Reds, who had surrendered their lead after a defeat to Chelsea and a draw with Crystal Palace. 

Manuel Pellegrini's side hosted West Ham United, the team he is managing this season, and needed only match Liverpool's result against Newcastle United at Anfield in order to claim a second PL crown.

And it all went to plan for City as Liverpool's Martin Skrtel scored an own goal before they themselves went 2-0 up at the Etihad Stadium with strikes by Samir Nasri and Vincent Kompany.

Brendan Rodgers' team did rally and turned their match around, thanks to Daniel Agger and Daniel Sturridge, but City got the victory they needed to be champions as Liverpool were left to rue slipping up in the run-in. 


Liverpool and Manchester City once again went toe-to-toe for the league title in 2018/19 season, setting unprecedented standards at the top of the division to establish themselves as the dominant forces in English football.

Liverpool headed into the New Year with a seven point advantage after City’s wobbles over the festive period, but defeat at the Etihad – the Reds only defeat of the league season – offered Pep Guardiola’s side hopes of retaining their title.

Between March and May, the leadership changed hands eleven times as both teams charged towards the finish line, though there was precious little drama in terms of slips as both sides racked up victory after victory.

City finished the season with a 14-game winning run as Liverpool registered a steak of 12 successive victories, the former finishing just a point ahead of their title rivals as both sides won on the final day of the season.

Liverpool finished the campaign on a club record 97 points, the highest tally of any runner-up in history and enough to win the title in 25 of the past 27 Premier League seasons.

Content created and supplied by: Ochieng-19 (via Opera News )

Anfield Jamie Redknapp Ludek Miklosko Premier League Trophy


Load app to read more comments