Sign in
Download Opera News App

News Sports




FIFA World Cup

The First English Club To Win The FIFA Club World Cup

The FIFA Club World Cup is an international association football competition organised by the FIFA, the sport's global governing body.

It is the replacement or continuation of the Intercontinental Cup. The championship was first contested as the FIFA Club World Championship in 2000. It was not held between 2001 and 2004 due to a combination of factors, most importantly the collapse of FIFA's marketing partner International Sport and Leisure.

Following a change in format which saw the FIFA Club World Championship absorb the Intercontinental Cup, it was relaunched in 2005 and took its current name the season afterwards.

The current format of the tournament involves seven teams competing for the title at venues within the host nation over a period of about two weeks.

The winners of that year's edition of the Asian AFC Champions League, African CAF Champions League, North American CONCACAF Champions League, South American Copa LibertadoresOceanian OFC Champions League and European UEFA Champions League, along with the host nation's national champion, participate in a straight knockout tournament.

Manchester United became the first British club to win the FIFA Club World Cup when the Reds beat LDU Quito in Yokohama, Japan on 21 December 2008. Wayne Rooney scored the only goal.

The 1-0 win over the Ecuadorian side in the final was the second of two matches United played in the tournament.

Sir Alex Ferguson's men also won a semi-final a few days earlier against Gamba Osaka, beating the Japanese side 5-3 with goals from Rooney, Nemanja Vidic, Cristiano Ronaldo and Darren Fletcher.

Content created and supplied by: bakhita_updates (via Opera News )

FIFA Club World Championship FIFA Club World Cup Intercontinental Cup International Sport Oceanian OFC Champions League


Load app to read more comments