Sign in
Download Opera News App

News Sports




Premier League

The Only Premier League Club That Has Won 6 Premier League Trophies Consecutively

Only seven clubs in English history have been crowned Premier League champions. Only Manchester United among these seven teams has ever won the championship more than once (13 times). Manchester United isn't the only team with league championships under its belt; Manchester City, Leicester City, Chelsea, Liverpool, Arsenal, and Blackburn Rovers have all done the same.

Manchester United made Premier League history as they won their sixth championship in a row. In the 1992–1993 season, a Scottish soccer club managed by Sir Alex Ferguson became the first to win the English Premier League championship. Six Premier League titles were won by Manchester United while Ferguson was manager (from 1995–1996 to 2002–2003).

In the 1998–1999 season, Sir Alex Ferguson's last as manager, Manchester United won a record-tying three titles. This team just won the English Premier League, UEFA Champions League, and FA Cup in quick succession.

In the 1994–1995 Premier League season, Manchester United was undefeated until Blackburn Rovers defeated them. Manchester United would have set a record by winning the Premier League for an unprecedented eight consecutive seasons if not for Blackburn Rovers. In this season's league, Manchester United was second to only the champions.

With 90 points, they finished ahead of last-place Blackburn Rovers, who only managed to muster 89. United's 88 points were the most of any team in the league during that time. During Blackburn Rovers' championship season, Allan Shearer scored 37 goals.

Chelsea and Manchester City are the other two successful clubs in the Premier League. One of these teams is guaranteed to win the English Premier League this season. Six and five trophies have been won by the two clubs in this tournament.

The team hasn't won since David Moyes replaced Sir Alex Ferguson as manager in 2013. They've been struggling for some time, and last year they had a real opportunity to win, but they blew it. There have been several managers at the helm of the club since Ferguson resigned, but none of them have been able to restore the team to its former glory.

Below is a list of all Premier League champions since the league's inception in 1992.

Content created and supplied by: Pattys (via Opera News )

Arsenal English Liverpool Manchester City Manchester United


Load app to read more comments