Sign in
Download Opera News App

News Sports




FIFA World Cup

Will History Repeat Itself? Messi's Argentina on the Verge of Making History

Argentina sealed qualification to the round of 16 after edging past Poland. Goals from Mac Allister and Edson Alvarez were enough to seal the South American's round of 16 spot by finishing top of Group C.

A draw would have seen them settle for the second spot and would have to face defending Champions France. Poland survived after finishing level on points with Mexico. FIFA Fair Play would have been put in place to determine which side progresses as they were level on every stat but a late Saudi Arabia consolation goal sinked Mexico's hopes.

Earlier Lionel Messi had his effort from the spot saved by Szczesny after Argentina were awarded a very soft penalty. The same situation happened in 1978 and 1986 as Argentina went on to win FIFA World Cup.

1978-Mario Kempes missed a penalty in the 3rd game.

1986-Diego Maradona missed a penalty in the 3rd game.

2022-Lionel Messi missed a penalty in the 3rd game.

🇦🇷🏆Argentina went to win the FIFA World Cup in 1978 & 1986.

Will history be repeating itself?

Szczesny cooling Argentina players before the penalty is taken.

Messi and Lewandowski shared a moment after the final whistle.

Saudi Arabia sinked Mexico's hopes of qualification. [Photos: Courtesy]

Content created and supplied by: Naika'sDiary (via Opera News )

Edson Alvarez FIFA Fair Play Lionel Messi Mexico Poland


Load app to read more comments