Sign in
Download Opera News App

News Sports

 

Soccer

 

UEFA Champions League

UCL Final: Why VAR Was Right To Disallow Benzema's Goal In Today's Game

Real Madrid won their 14th Champions League title on Saturday night after beating Liverpool in a very important game. 

Carlo Ancelotti's team played well, and he will be happy with how things turned out. 

Liverpool got off to a good start. In the first few minutes, they had most of the ball and made a few good chances. 

In the 17th minute, Mane's shot hit the post and almost found the bottom corner. A few minutes later, Salah took another shot, but Courtois stopped it cleanly. This kept Real Madrid in the game. 

Benzema thought he had given Real Madrid the lead at the end of the first half, but his goal was called back because he was offside. 

People have asked why the Video Assistant Referee ruled that Benzema's goal at the end of the first half did not count. 

When the ball went off Fabinho's knee, it was clear that Benzema was out of position. If Fabinho had passed the ball backwards on purpose to Karim Benzema, the goal would have counted. 

The goal should not have counted, though, because Fabinho didn't directly pass the ball into his own goal.

Content created and supplied by: 4evertoxic (via Opera News )

Benzema Champions League Liverpool Real Madrid Salah

COMMENTS

Load app to read more comments