Sign in
Download Opera News App

News Sports




FIFA World Cup

The only Team Which Has Lost All 3 world cup finals It Has Played

World cup is the most competitive tournament in the world. Its not easy for a team to reach finals as sometimes it's hard work, discipline, composure and the luck the competing team it has. Netherlands has set record as they only team to play in 3 world cup finals without winning any of them.

1n 1974 Netherlands reached the finals for their first time in history. This final was held at Olimpia Stadium in Munich which was attended by 75,200 fans and the center referee being Jack Tylor. This final was between European giants Germany and Netherlands where Germany was lead by Franz Backenbauer while Netherlands were lead by Johan Cruyff. Surprisingly Netherlands lost 2-1 to Germany thanks to Gerd Muller winning goal.

1978 world cup final which was held in Argentina at Estadio Buenos Aires. This was a match between Argentina and Netherlands lands where 71,483 fans attended the match while center referee was Sergio Gonella from Italy. This was the second world for the Dutch to reach finals on two consecutive times which they lost to Argentina.

In 2010 again Netherlands reached the finals which they played against Spain. This finals were hosted in South Africa at Soccer City stadium its center referee being Howard Webb. A total of 84,490 fans attended the finals which Spain defeated Netherlands 1-0 in extra time thanks to Andreas Iniesta the only winning goal.

Content created and supplied by: (via Opera News )

Argentina Germany Jack Tylor Netherlands Olimpia Stadium


Load app to read more comments