Sign in
Download Opera News App

News Sports




FIFA World Cup

World Cup Payouts: Billions for Winners and Participants

The world is eagerly awaiting the World Cup final between Argentina and France, which will take place at the Lusail Stadium at 6 p.m. today.

As the two teams prepare to face off on the field, many fans also wonder about the prize money awarded to the winners and participants.

.In April 2022, the Federation Internationale de Football Association (FIFA) announced that it had allocated a budget of Ksh.54.3 Billion ($440 Million) for the 2022 World Cup prize money. The champions will receive the highest prize in a World Cup tournament: Ksh.5.1 Billion ($42 million). 

This is a significant increase from the Ksh.4.6 Billion ($38 Million) awarded to France in the 2018 World Cup and the Ksh.4.3 Billion ($35 million) was awarded to Germany in 2014.

The runners-up of the World Cup will also receive a generous prize of Ksh.3.67 Billion ($30 Million). 

In addition, the third-place team (Croatia) will receive Ksh.3.3 Billion ($27 million), 

The fourth-place team (Morocco) will receive Ksh.3 Billion ($25 million), and teams that made it to the quarterfinals will receive Ksh.2 Billion each ($17 million)

Teams that were knocked out of the tournament at the Round of 16 stages will receive Ksh.1.6 Billion each($13 Million), and teams that were knocked out in the knock-out stage will receive Ksh.1.1 Billion each ($9 Million).

Overall, the World Cup winners and participants stand to take home significant sums of money, which is a testament to the tournament's high level of competition and talent. As the final match approaches, fans can look forward to an exciting and closely contested game and the opportunity for the winning team to take home a large prize.

Content created and supplied by: obinofrank (via Opera News )

FIFA Federation Internationale de Football Association France Lusail Stadium World Cup


Load app to read more comments