Sign in
Download Opera News App

News Sports




Premier League

The Explainer: How The New European Super League Will Work And Its Format

This is the format of the European Super league.

The newly formed European Super League will have 20 participating clubs with 15 founding clubs and a qualifying mechanism for a further five teams to qualify annually based on achievements in the prior season. Twelve Founding teams have already joined. The 12 teams are; Ac Milan, Inter Milan and Juventus from Italy, Atletico Madrid, Real Madrid and Barcelona from Spain, Arsenal, Chelsea, Manchester United, Manchester City, Tottenham Hotspurs and Liverpool from England.

They will have midweek fixtures for their matches with all participating clubs continuing to compete in their respective national leagues, domestic leagues and the world leagues at large. This Super league is intended to generate more revenues to the clubs after their economy went down due to Covid 19 pandemic.

An August start with clubs participating in two groups of ten, playing home and away fixtures with the top three in each group automatically qualifying for the quarter finals. Teams finishing forth and fifth will then compete in a two - legged playoffs for the remaining quarter final positions.

A two - leg knockout format will be used to reach the final at the end of May which will be staged as a Single fixture at a neutral venue.

What is your view on this introduction of European Super league by the giant clubs? Share with us your views in the comment section. Share this article to your friends, click the like button and kindly follow us for more interesting articles daily.

Content created and supplied by: Sports-Arena (via Opera News )

Ac Milan European Super League Italy Juventus Spain


Load app to read more comments