Sign in
Download Opera News App

News Sports




La Liga

Only 20 players have earned the renowned prize that Messi is missing from his trophies.

Lionel Messi has never received the Golden Foot award, which Robert Lewandowski earned in 2022.

Messi might not be upset about losing out on this prize if he is still celebrating Argentina's stunning World Cup victory with his Argentinian teammates.

Despite his countless football accomplishments, he has never taken home the European trophy, which has previously been won by players like Cristiano Ronaldo, Zlatan Ibrahimovic, and Ronaldinho.

But exactly what is it?

The Golden Foot has been awarded for 20 years, and a long list of football greats have been among the prior winners, but one name is still missing from the list.

The award is only given out once, and to be eligible to win it, you must be at least 28 years old.

Messi has been eligible for this award, which is given to the best player of the year as chosen by journalists, for seven years running.

Lewandowski of Barcelona, who has 18 goals and four assists through 19 games this season, is the winner this year.

Of course, he spent a successful half of the year at Bayern Munich before making the move to the Nou Camp in the summer.

With 527 goals in his career, Lewandowski, 34, has a long history of being a top goal scorer and joins the elite group of athletes who have won the award.

"I'm much more proud if you look at the list of the winners of this prize,"


With rumors of a contract extension in the works, Messi will most likely still be at PSG and be in the running for the award next year.

The Argentine has had a fantastic start to the season for both club and nation. After finally settling in Paris, he has formed a lethal front three with Kylian Mbappe and Neymar.

He has currently scored 42 goals for PSG and Argentina in just 29 games, won the World Cup's Best Player title, and taken home the trophy himself.

Maybe next year he will finally win the one football prize that has eluded him.

Argentina vs France final .

Argentina's Lionel Messi, the newly crowned world champion, has made 26 appearances in the FIFA World Cup and has 13 goals and assists to his credit. He presently holds the record for both the most World Cup games played and direct goal involvements. In a 6-0 victory over Serbia-Montenegro in 2006, Lionel Messi made his World Cup debut, scoring once and claiming an assist. He did not score at the 2010 World Cup, but he did provide an assist when Argentina was eliminated from the quarterfinals after losing to Germany 4-0.

Content created and supplied by: Jalo (via Opera News )

Golden Foot Lionel Messi Messi Robert Lewandowski


Load app to read more comments