Sign in
Download Opera News App

News Sports




Premier League

Manchester United football club history

The team first entered the English First Division, then the highest league in English football, for the start of the 1892-93 season. Our club name changed to Manchester United Football Club in 1902, and we won the first of our 20 English League titles in 1908. In 1910, we moved to Old Trafford, our current stadium. John Henry Davies became the club president, and on 26 April 1902, given that the team now had few ties with its origins; it was no longer based in Newton Heath, the new owners renamed the club Manchester United Football Club, after considering the alternative names "Manchester Celtic" and "Manchester Central".

The club was formed as Newton Heath LYR in 1878 by workers from the Lancashire and Yorkshire Railway. Renamed Manchester United in 1902, the club won its first English league championship in 1907–08.

Manchester United have won more trophies than any other club in English football, with a record 20 League titles, 12 FA Cups, five League Cups and a record 21 FA Community Shields.


  • FA Cup: 12. 1908–09, 1947–48, 1962–63, 1976–77, 1982–83, 1984–85, 1989–90, 1993–94, 1995–96, 1998–99, 2003–04, 2015–16.
  • League Cup: 5. 1991–92, 2005–06, 2008–09, 2009–10, 2016–17.
  • FA Charity/Community Shield: 21 (17 outright, 4 shared) – record.

Content created and supplied by: Samikrus (via Opera News )

First Division John Henry Davies Manchester United Manchester United Football Club Newton Heath


Load app to read more comments