Sign in
Download Opera News App

News Sports




UEFA Champions League

5 Greatest Players Who Never Won the Champions League

Champions League is one of the most prestigious trophies in European football. It is highly respected after the World Cup Trophy. It is always a dream of every player to add the trophy to his collection. There are some great players who retired without touching the trophy. Here is the list of the players who have never won the Champions League;

1. Gianluigi Buffon

Gianluigi Buffon is one of the greatest goalkeepers in football history. He has won many Seria titles and Copa Italia at Juventus. He also won the Ligue 1 title during his spell at PSG. In 2006 Buffon won the World Cup trophy with Italy. He has featured in 3 Champions League finals but he has never emerged to be a winner. He will be retiring at the end of the season.

2. Patrick Viera

Patrick Viera is a great legend for Arsenal. He was also one of the greatest midfieders in the English Premier Leagueduring his time at Arsenal. He captained Arsenal and they won 3 Premier League titles. The Frenchman has never won the Champions League title.

3. Dennis Bergkamp

Dennis Bergkamp is the second Arsenal legend to appear on our list. He was one of the technically gifted players of his generation. His last game for Arsenal was in 2006 when they were defeated by Barcelona in the Champions League final.

4. Zlatan Ibrahimovic

Many football fans will be surprised when a great striker like Ibrahimovic appear on this list. He fall out with Pep Guordiola and he left Barcelona, the club then won 2 Champions League titles within 3 years. He also played for PSG, Milan clubs, Juventus and Manchester United but he never won the trophy. He has only managed to play in the semi-finals.

5. Ronaldo

He is arguably the best player never to win the Champions League. He is still regarded as one of the best centre forwads of all time. He played for Real Madrid, Barcelona, AC Milan and Inter Milan but he never won the Champions League. He only won the World Cup for his nation Brazil.

Other greatest players who never won the Champions League include; Thiago Silva, Pavel Nevded and Maradona.

Name any other great player who never won the Champions League in the chat box below.

Content created and supplied by: Kenyanews254 (via Opera News )

Champions League Gianluigi Buffon Juventus Ligue 1 Patrick Viera


Load app to read more comments