Sign in
Download Opera News App

News Sports





Top 10 Countries With Most Africa Cup Of Nation Titles (Afcon), Kenya Has Not Won Any Of This Title

Africa cup of nation league is a league that has united Africans. This league began in 1957. However, research reveals that no East African country has won this title ( in exclusion of Ethiopia). We shall look the top countries with Manny Afcon cups.

1. Egypt

The Pharaohs have won this title 7 times. The were the first country to win the Afcon cup. They won in 1957, 1959, 1986, 1998, 2006, 2008 and 2010.

2. Cameroon

Cameroon which is mostly recognized in the map of football for it's legend Samuel Etoo. Cameroon has the title 5 times. It won on the year 1984, 1988, 2000, 2002, 2017. They are the current defending champions of the title.

3. Ghana

Ghana is the first African country to reach the world cup quarter finals before kicked out by Argentina in the year 2010 after the Ghian missed penalty during the last minutes. Beside that Ghana has won 4 Africa cup of nation titles. This was in the year 1963, 1965, 1978 and 1982.

3. Nigeria

The Federal Republic of Nigeria has won 3 Africa cup of nation titles. This was between the years 1980, 1994 and 2013.

4. Cote d' Ivoire

Also known as the Ivory coast because of the availability of most of the Ivory in Africa. Ivory coast is well known in the map of football through it's legend Didier Drogba ( retired Chelsea player). It has won this title 2 times, that is in the year 1992 and 2015.

4. Democratic Republic of Congo.

The Congolese have has won this title twice. This makes them at the same level with Ivory coast. They won it in the year 1986 and 1974.

6. Algeria

Algeria (The African Arabs) have won this title once since the 1957 to 2017. This was in the year 1990.

6. Congo

Congo have won this title once. This was in the year 1972.

6. Ethiopia

It is the second East African country to win the Africa cup of nation. Ethiopia which is also recognized in sports for it's prowess in athletes won this title in the year 1962.

6. Morocco

Morocco entered into the history book of Africa Cup of nation champions in the year 1976.

6. South Africa

The most developed country in Africa has won this title once and it was in the year 1996, 2 years after Nelson Mandela became the South President.

6. Sudan

Before the splitting of Sudan into North and South Sudan the country had entered into the history book of the African Cup of Nation title as one ( that is as Sudan) in the year 1970.

6. Tunisia

The north Africa Arabs have won this title in the year 2004 after Cameroon had won it in 2002.

6. Zambia

Zambia won this title in the year 2012. It closes the history book of Afcon winners.

The question is where are the rest of the east African countries, that is Kenya, Tanzania and Uganda. There is still much to be done in Kenya. The country must invest heavily in foot football so that at list the country can be recognized in Africa as Africa cup of nation title champions.

Content created and supplied by: Polysports (via Opera News )

Afcon Africa East African Egypt Kenya


Load app to read more comments