Sign in
Download Opera News App

News Sports




La Liga

Ballon d'Or History: Footballers Who Have Won The Award Many Times Since It's Innovation.

Ballon d'Or.

Ballon d'Or [source courtesy].

Ballon d'Or the annual football award that is one of the oldest and generally regarded as the most prestigious individual award for football players.

Lionel Messi [source courtesy].

Since the introduction of Ballon d'Or in 1956, Lionel Messi has won awards 6 times than any footballer in the world. On the list, Christiano Ronaldo has won it 5 times, one in Manchester United and the rest at Real Madrid. Johan Cruyff, Marco Van Basten, and Michel Platini follow in the list with both winning the award three times their whole football career.

Up until 1995, the award was often referred to as the European Footballer of the Year award as it was only open to European players at European clubs. The eligibility rules were changed in 1995 to allow non-European players to be eligible for the award if they played for a European club. Then in 2007, any player in the world became eligible.

Since 2008, Christiano Ronaldo and Lionel Messi have been exchanging the award until Luka Modric came in 2018. Lionel Messi is the current holder of the award but we hope this year, he will give it out to other excellent players like N'golo Kante, Kevin Debrune, Kylian Mbappe, and Roberto Lewandoski.

[Source courtesy].

Content created and supplied by: Ghich_009 (via Opera News )

Ballon d'Or Christiano Ronaldo Lionel Messi Marco Van Basten Michel Platini


Load app to read more comments