Sign in
Download Opera News App

News Sports




Premier League

The Only Player To Win Three Premier League Golden Boot Awards in A Row

Most of the greatest goal scorers in Premier League history have ever been the top scorer in England. The English league is always known to have brilliant strikers and wingers who score an unbelievable number of goals.

This is clear in the current season where seven players have scored more than 15 league goals. The likes of Mohamed Salah, Son Heung-min, Cristiano Ronaldo, Harry Kane, Kevin de Bruyne, Diogo Jota, and Sadio Mane have all scored more than 15 goals this season.

They have been the biggest nightmares for their opponents and they can stop finding the back of the net. Salah and Son Heung-min are both battling for the Premier League golden boot award which will be settled in the last two games with the goal difference being only one goal.

This tight race for the top scorer award is a clear prove how the league has always had some brilliant goal scorers for years. In the current era only Cristiano Ronaldo, Sadio Mane, Harry Kane, Jamie Vardy, and Mohamed Salah have won the nig prize.

However, none of them have ever won three golden hoots awards in a row in the careers of legends like Alan Shearer, Robin van Persie, Didier Drogba, and Fernando Torres.

Former Arsenal forward and club legend Thierry Henry has been the only player to be in the Premier League for three consecutive seasons. Henry won the award in 2004, 2005, and 2006 campaigns when he scored 30, 25, and 27 goals respectively.

No player in the league history has ever won the golden boot in three consecutive seasons except for Henry. Kane has ever come close when he two in a row during 2015/16 and 2016/17 where is clear that this incredible record by Thierry Henry will last for years to come.

Content created and supplied by: Sportspunditry (via Opera News )

Cristiano Ronaldo Harry Kane Mohamed Salah Premier League Sadio Mane


Load app to read more comments