Sign in
Download Opera News App

News Sports




FIFA World Cup

Only African Footballer Who Has Ever Won The Ballon d'Or

Since 1956, France Football, a French news publication, has presented the Ballon d'Or, an annual football prize. The award was temporarily amalgamated with the FIFA World Player of the Year (established in 1991) and called as the FIFA Ballon d'Or between 2010 and 2015 as per an agreement with FIFA.When the partnership came to an end in 2016, FIFA established its own annual award, The Best FIFA Men's Player, and the prize was renamed the Ballon d'Or.

Weah is the only African player to have ever won the Ballon d'Or, and he did so in 1995, the first year that players from other continents were eligible for the honor.

He won 144 votes to 108 for Jurgen Klinsmann, who finished in second place, in that year, and added 13 more the next year.

When he was a teenager, Weah won the home league in Liberia. When Claude Le Roy, Arsene Wenger's agent, learned of his abilities, he informed the French manager. Tonnerre Yaounde in France paid PS12,000 to recruit Weah in 1988.

Content created and supplied by: Deathrow (via Opera News )

Ballon FIFA FIFA World Player of the Year France Football Jurgen Klinsmann


Load app to read more comments