Sign in
Download Opera News App

News Sports




UEFA Champions League

The Chelsea squad that lost FIFA club world cup final in 2012

The 2012 FIFA club world cup which was being hosted by Japan was Chelsea's first ever final in the tournament after winning the UEFA champions League the previous year after beating Bayern Munich 4-3 in penalties.

The blues faced CONMEBOL winners Corinthians at the international stadium Yokohama in Yokohama on the 16th December 2012. The Chelsea team lost 1-0 a goal which was a header by Paorro Guerrero giving Corinthians Their second FIFA club world cup silverware.

The blues who were under head coach Rafael Benitez were lined up as follows.

Gk 1 Petr Cech

RB 2 Branislav Ivanovich

CB 24 Garry Cahill

CB 4 David Luiz

LB 3 Ashley Cole

CM 7 Ramirez

CM 8 Frank lampard

Rw 13 Victor Moses

AM 10 Juan Mata

LW 17 Eden Hazard

CF 9 Fernando Torres

Substitutes who featured were Oscar , Cesar Azpilicueta and Marko Marin .

The blues led in everything but a goal having multiple shots on target as the statistics show.

Content created and supplied by: Smasherke (via Opera News )

Chelsea David Luiz Eden Hazard Juan Mata Petr Cech


Load app to read more comments