Sign in
Download Opera News App



Govt Begins Plan to Number All Houses

Cabinet Secretary, Joe Mucheru has selected five members of a pilot implementation committee to lead the rolling out of the National Addressing System (N.A.S). 

The announcement was made in a gazette notice dated May 31, 2021.

Major John Njoroge shall be the chairperson in a committee comprising of Jane Muga, Nyambura Kariuki, Martin Ngesa and Winnie Mangeli. 

Victor Nzomo and Elly Logova were named as joint secretaries. 

The committee's objective is to manage the launch of a system that will provide a framework for naming and numbering of streets, numbering of properties such as buildings and parcels of land to facilitate identification and the location of a parcel or dwelling on the ground.

The term of the committee is set to be 3 months, in which time it is expected to deliver 3 monthly reports to the CS.

The new system is expected to boost online businesses as it will make it easier to identify each house in Kenya, making it possible to deliver parcels to the doorstep.

The system also aims to assist the public and agencies involved in emergency management, telecommunications, mail and courier services, other utility services in efficient service delivery. 

Taxi hailing app drivers can use the special numbers and street names to find customers and take them to their destination. 

Under the system which has been in the pipeline since 2015, street names and numbers cannot be repeated in different parts of Kenya. 

NAS is backed by the Kenya Information and Communications (Numbering) Regulations 2010, which tasks the Communications Authority (CA) to set up a National Communications and Addressing Plan for postal codes, communication numbers and addresses in collaboration with global organizations that deal with numbering and addressing systems.

Content created and supplied by: KDF.POLICE.SERVICE.UPDATES (via Opera News )

Elly Logova Martin Ngesa Nyambura Kariuki Victor Nzomo Winnie Mangeli.


Load app to read more comments