Sign in
Download Opera News App

News Society


Crime Justice



Details Where The Arrested DCI Officers Are, What Awaits Them On Thursday Revealed

Five more SSU personnel have been arrested since the closure of the Directorate of Criminal Investigations (DCI).

The Internal Affairs Unit (IAU) of the National Police Service told the public on October 26 that five officials from the DCI headquarters had been detained the previous Wednesday at the IAU's offices in the Upper Hill neighborhood of Nairobi.

These four officers are Sergeants Stephen Luseno Matunda, Paul Njogu Muriithi, Simon Muhunga Gikonyo, and Corporals David Chepcheng Kipsoi and Joseph Mwenda Mbaya.

The notice adds that they are being looked into for possible criminal charges of kidnapping under Section 254 and conspiracy to conduct a felony under Section 393.

Prior to their arraignment on Thursday, the cops are being kept at the Industrial Area Police Station. Four days before, four other SSU officers had been detained on similar charges of preparing a crime and kidnapping, so their arrests came as a bit of a surprise.

After being questioned at IAU headquarters on Friday, Chief Inspector Peter Muthee and Corporals Joseph Mbugua, Francis Ndonye, and John Kamau were arrested.

On October 16, the DCI issued a statement explaining why the renowned SSU was disbanded: directives from acting Inspector General of Police Noor Gabow.

Content created and supplied by: _mochache (via Opera News )

David Chepcheng Kipsoi Internal Affairs Unit SSU Simon Muhunga Gikonyo Stephen Luseno Matunda


Load app to read more comments