Sign in
Download Opera News App

News Politics




Asian politics

Countries That Have Prohibited Alcohol Consumption

The following countries have or had a comprehensive prohibition against alcohol. Particularly the term refers to the banning of the manufacturer, storage (whether in barrrels or in bottles), transportation, sale, possession and consumption of alcoholoc beverages. Pakistan, Sudan, Saudi Arabia, Somalia Maurice, Libya, the Maldives, Iran, Kuwait, Brunei and Bangladesh have alcohol bans, as do some states in India.

India is a Hindu majority country but has a sizeable muslim population. The Kingdom of Saudi Arabia had always followed the Islamic laws very strickly and enforced it on their people.It is a very conservative Islamic country and is home to what is considered the holiest city in Islam, Mecca. Alcohol consumption, importation, brewing and selling is completely banned in Saudi Arabia.

In Pakistan, alcohol was allowed for three decades since the country's independence. However, it was completely banned in the country during the rule of Zulfikar Ali Bhutto and after his removal form office in 1977, the ban continued.

Content created and supplied by: Dailybuzznews (via Opera News )

Alcohol Brunei Iran Maldives Saudi Arabia


Load app to read more comments