Sign in
Download Opera News App

News Politics




Africa politics

Mixed Reactions As DP Ruto Summons Uhuru's Cabinet Secretaries To His Karen Home

Five of President Uhuru Kenyatta' s iron men, as well as the council of governors, have been summoned to an Intergovernmental Budget and Economic Council (IBEC) meeting by Deputy President William Ruto. The next meeting of the IBEC is set for next week. However, as the political climate for next year begins to heat up, this has prompted some concern.

The DP, on the other hand, has summoned five of President Kenyatta' s Cabinet Secretaries at a time when ties between them are at an all- time low. DP Ruto' s influence in the government has likewise dwindled.

However, because of the tense relationship between the country' s most powerful man and his deputy, it' s unclear whether the Cabinet Secretaries would go. Some have questioned if the Cabinet Secretaries will attend the meeting, given that some of them have publicly criticized the DP.

Surprisingly, the venue choice raises even more questions. This is because Deputy President William Ruto' s Karen mansion has been chosen as the site. The Deputy President has been hosting his Hustler Nation team at this location, which may make it difficult for the Cabinet Secretaries to attend.

National Treasury Cabinet Secretary Ukur Yatani, Education Cabinet Secretary Professor George Magoha, Transport, Infrastructure, Housing, Urban Development and Public Works Cabinet Secretary James Macharia, and Cabinet Secretary of Agriculture Peter Munya are among the Cabinet Secretaries summoned by Deputy President William Ruto. Charles Keter, the CS of Devolution, has also been invited. The invitation came in the form of a letter from the Deputy President' s office, announcing that the meeting will take place on Monday, November 22nd, 2021.

Martin Wambora (Chair of the Council of Governors), Auditor- General Nancy Gathungu, Anne Amadi (Chief Registrar in the Judiciary), Margaret Nyakang' o (Controller of Budget), Ndegwa Wahome (Chairperson of the County Assemblies Forum), Jane Kiringai (Chairperson of the Commission on Revenue Allocation), Michael Sialai (Clerk of the National Assembly), and John Burugu are the other key people invited to the event.

Content created and supplied by: Kibejac (via Opera News )

Cabinet DP IBEC Intergovernmental Budget and Economic Council Ruto


Load app to read more comments