Sign in
Download Opera News App

News Politics




Africa politics

Here is the list of MPs appointed to the House Business Committee.

The House Business Committee, which is in charge of monitoring and supervising the execution of the House's business and programs, received nine new members on Tuesday from the Parliament.

Speaker Moses Wetang'ula gave his approval to the list that Majority Leader Kimani Ichung'wa had provided.

Samwel Chepkonga of AinabkoI, Tom Kajwang of Ruaraka, and Adan Wehliye of Eldas are three of the nine MPs whose names have been authorized for seats on the House Business Committee of the National Assembly.

Others include MPs Joshua Mbithi, Faith Wairimu, Umul Kassim, Omboko Milemba, Robert Mbui, and Sarah Korere.

The committee will put into practice the Standing Rules pertaining to the scheduling or programming of the House's activities and the operation of the House Committees.

The Parliamentary Calendar must be created by the House Business Committee and, with the House's consent, may occasionally need to be adjusted.

Within seven days of the new House being fully constituted, members are appointed.

Kenya's constitution states that the Speaker (chairperson), the Leader of the Majority Party, the Leader of the Minority Party, and not fewer than twenty-one and not more than twenty-nine members who have been nominated by parliamentary parties and approved by the House at the start of each Session will make up the House Business Committee.

Membership takes into account the interests of Independents and represents the relative majorities of the seats held by each of the parliamentary parties in the National Assembly.

Here is the full list of the House Business Committee:

SpeakerMoses Wetangula,

Majority leader Kimani Ichung’wah,

Minority Leader Opiyo Wandayi,

Majority Chief Whip Sylvanus OsoroMinority 

Whip Junet Mohammed

MP Samwel K. Chepkonga

MP Faith Wairimu Gitau

MP Umul Ker Kassim Sheikh

MP Omboko Milemba

MP Robert Mbui

MP Adan Wehliye Keynan

MP Tom Joseph Francis Kajwang’

MP Sarah Paulata Korer

MP Joshua Mbithi Mwalyo

Content created and supplied by: Mikeatts (via Opera News )

House Business Committee Joshua Mbithi Moses Wetang'ula Robert Mbui Ruaraka


Load app to read more comments