Sign in
Download Opera News App

News Politics




Africa politics

New Faces win MCA seats in Matungulu Constituency

Grace Bahati popularly known as Zora addressing the media after being declared(source.C.patterson)

In the just concluded elections in Matungulu sub county no member of county assembly retained their seat.

In Matungulu west ward Raphael Nzau Lucky of Wiper party carried the day by garnering 6,508 votes followed by 

by Kathumawho got 1878 votes then Sophia Kithekaof ODM party who got 1,709 votes.

Speaking after being declared the winner Lucky promised to work with the governor who will be announced for the betterment of his people.

He noted that he will work for those who voted for him and those who didn't because its time to deliver to the people and not politics

"I'm grateful to God because these are answered prayers , I will work with the next county government to ensure I deliver what I promised to you," he said.

In Matungulu east ward Julius Munywoki of UDA thrashed his opponents by garnering 3,271 votes closely followed by Wiper candidate and the outgoing Cosmus Ngula Masesi who got 2796 votes.

Then Wilson Kasimu an independent candidate and former MCA who got 615 votes. The results were announced by Matungulu returning officer Sahara Malim at the constituency tallying center.

In Kyeleni ward Grace Bahati popularly known as Zora carried the day.

The 31 year old and only woman in the race got 2,687 votes whitewashing the incumbent Josphat Kasyoki of the CCU party who got 775 votes.

In an interview with the media Zora confirmed that she was an indication that the youth can too contest and win.

She promised to play her part as MCA by ensuring all the development deprived her people is achieved.

"I'm grateful that the people of Kyeleni believed in me a young woman contesting against men who are like my parents and have experience in politics, .I'm very happy to see that the love of my people has paid off. Its my turn now to work for them and show them that it is achievable,"she said.

"I want to tell the youths out there not to fear, got for what you want and you will succeeed,thanks to everyone who made this possible, "she added.

In Tala ward Jackson Ndaka of Wiper party won by getting 2,225 votes followed by Duncan Mating'i-2,151 of CCU party then Lucas Ngila of UDA who garnered 1,446 votes.

The outgoing MCA Alex Kamitu who was serving his second term came forth with 1,312(MCCP).

Mathias Mambo and independent candidate won in Matungulu north by getting 1186 votes.

Content created and supplied by: Cpatterson (via Opera News )


Load app to read more comments