Sign in
Download Opera News App

News Politics




Africa politics

Raila, Ruto and 14 Presidential aspirants submit signatures to IEBC Today Evening

The Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission, or IEBC, is preparing for the General Elections in August, which are expected to attract millions of Kenyans.

The IEBC has given instructions on how the elections would be held, as well as rules for aspirants to follow during this time.

According to recent reports, the Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission expected presidential candidates to have submitted their signatures by today's close of business.

Only 16 applicants have been able to submit the essential documents for anyone who wants to run for the country's top position, according to verified sources obtained by TV47 Kenya this evening.

According to sources, the sixteen candidates were able to file signatures and photocopies of the ID cards of people sponsoring them for the country's top seat.

This evening, Kalonzo Musyoka, a Wiper Party candidate, presented his signatures and the relevant paperwork to the Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission.

This is notwithstanding Wiper Party's announcement that it will rejoin the Azimio la Umoja One Kenya Alliance.

Former Prime Minister Raila Odinga, businessman Jimmy Wanjigi, Deputy President William Ruto, and Murang'a Governor Mwangi wa Iria are among those who have completed the necessary stage, which might result in the exclusion of 20 candidates.

Content created and supplied by: Lynchero (via Opera News )

IEBC Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission Kalonzo Musyoka Ruto TV47 Kenya


Load app to read more comments