Sign in
Download Opera News App

News Politics




Africa politics

IEBC Chair Wafula Chebukati Makes Major Announcement on August Elections

The Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission has published the names and emblems of independent candidates seeking elective seats.

This happens after the candidates submitted their symbols and details and declared their desire to run as independent candidates in the 9 August 2022 General Election.

The candidates must show themselves to the respective Returning Officer on the dates specified for Commission nominations.

From May 29 through June 7, 2022, the Commission's Returning Officers are slated to begin registering candidates for various elective seats.

On May 23, 2022, the electoral agency will host a pre-nomination meeting with all presidential candidates (or their authorized representatives) at the Bomas of Kenya.

"Their respective Returning Officers will advise aspirants for the other elected offices of the dates for pre-nomination meetings," stated IEBC Chairperson Wafula Chebukati.

Chebukati urged prospective candidates to inquire at the Commission's County and Constituency offices about the prerequisites for registration as candidates.

On the list, 38 persons have expressed interest in running for the presidency.

On the IEBC's list of notable candidates include famed musician Reuben Kigame, Nazlin Omar, and Jeremiah Nyagah.

There are a total of 55 candidates for president, including 14 from political parties.

In the August elections for the 47 gubernatorial seats up for grabs, there are 244 gubernatorial candidates, of which 167 are political party candidates and 77 are independent candidates.

IEBC stated that the County Returning Officers will clear the gubernatorial candidates as candidates during the registration period, once their eligibility to run for the various elective offices has been determined.

The race for the National Assembly has attracted 748 independent candidates for 290 elective seats, including 95 independent women candidates for Women Representative.

Content created and supplied by: MoniqueRo (via Opera News )

Chebukati Commission IEBC Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission Wafula Chebukati


Load app to read more comments