Sign in
Download Opera News App

Politics Policy




Africa politics

Longest Serving MP in Kenya Who Has Never Lost An Election

Dr. Naomi Shaban

The Taveta constituency legislator Dr Naomi N Shaban is one of the longest serving MP in Kenya. Dr Shaban has never lost election since she first vied for this seat in 2002. Despite the struggle which female politicians do face in Kenya against their male counterparts, Dr Shaban has managed to win four consecutive elections up to now.

In the year 2002 election, Dr Shaban won the Taveta constituency seat through the KANU party ticket. The MP was re-elected in 2007 the second term and went ahead to serve the country as the Special Programmes Minister. She was later relocated to the Youth Affairs Ministry in the coalition government.

In 2013, She was again re-elected through the TNA Party. This was her third time win to serve the Taveta residents for third term. In the forth round again in 2017, Dr. Shaban maintained her seat again while vieng under the Jubilee party.

The MP who is currently serving her forth term in office, is standing as the second longest serving MP in Kenya. The Kitutu Chache North legislator Hon. Jimmy Angwenyi is leading the list of longest serving Members of Parliament in the country.

Content created and supplied by: (via Opera News )

Jimmy Angwenyi Kenya Naomi N Shaban Taveta Youth Affairs Ministry


Load app to read more comments