Sign in
Download Opera News App

News Politics




Africa politics

Revealed: The Politicians Who Have Never Lost An Election For Over 20 Years

The Kenya political landscape is not for its dynamics, with Kenyans going against the expected as it was witnessed in the 2017 General elections where almost 80%of incumbent leaders were not elected.

However, over the past 20 years, two notable key politicians have tactfully managed to sail through the political turbulence and have never tasted a defeat in elective positions they have contested for.

Deputy President William Ruto and Meru Governor Kiraitu Murungi have the charisma of winning since they joined elective politics in their early years.

The second in command has never lost an election since 2007. From his unprecedented win in 2007 where he led the ODM wave that swept the Rift Valley and all the seats despite former President Daniel Moi KANU influence in the region to 2013 and 2017 win under the Jubilee party.

On the other hand, Kiraitu Murungi holds a record of six consecutive wins. Murungi has won each election with a different party and has served as an MP, a Senator, and now as a Governor.

In 1992, Kiraitu Murungi joined politics and won the South Imenti parliamentary seat on a Ford Kenya party ticket before re-elected in 1997 on a Democratic Party ticket; in 2002 on a NARC ticket, and in 2007 on a PNU ticket.

He latest used his own party known as the "Mbus party" which he used to clinch the Meru senatorial seat before landing the Governor seat in 2017.

Content created and supplied by: JonKe (via Opera News )

Kenya Kiraitu Murungi Meru ODM William Ruto


Load app to read more comments