Sign in
Download Opera News App

News Politics




Africa politics

The political history of Belgut Constituency since independence

Belgut Constituency is one of the six constituencies of Kericho County. It was created before 1963 general elections.Belgut in early 1963,it was comprising of the current Ainamoi, Belgut and Soin/Sigowet.The first Member of Parliament was Alfred Kiptaro Kerich.

In 1969 election,there were three contestants namely; Alfred Kiptaro Kerich who was defending his seat,Wesly Rono who was the then Cheptenye Boys Principal and Ayub Chepkwony who was working at the Voice of Kenya.Wesly Rono won the election.

In 1974, Alfred Kiptaro Kerich managed to clinch the seat from Wesly Rono.

Ayub Chepkwony beat a field of five contestants to clinch the seat in the election of 1979.The five contestants were;Kiptarus Kirior, Frank Ruto, Alfred Kiptaro Kerich and Martha Maseti from Kapsuser and she was the first woman to vie for Belgut seat.

In 1983 election four aspirants were vying for the seat.The winner was Kiptarus Kirior.Kirior was not able to defend his seat in 1988 elections as Ayub Chepkwony won.

There were four aspirants in the 1992 elections namely; Ayub Chepkwony who was defending his seat, Charles Kirui, Kiptarus Kirior and Wesley Ruto (Ndovu). Kiptarus Kirior won the election.

In 1997 elections,Ainamoi Constituency was created out of the largere Belgut.Kiptarus Kirior moved out to the newly created Ainamoi Constituency, leaving out Charles Kirui, Ayub Chepkwony and Wilson Soy to square it out for Belgut seat.Charles Kirui won.

There were two contestants in 2002 general elections.The two were Charles Kirui who was defending his seat and his brother-in-law Charles Cheruiyot Keter.The later won.

Charles Cheruiyot Keter made history when he was re-elected for a second term in a row in the election of 2007 after defeating Justice Kemei and Esther Keino.

In 2013, it saw the creation of Soin/Sigowet.Eric Keter Mlimani won the election on a KANU ticket.Keter was not able to defend his seat in 2017 as he was defeated by Nelson Koech alias Sonko.

As we head to this year's elections, Nelson Koech is on the way of being the second member of parliament to be re-elected for the second term in a row after Charles Cheruiyot Keter.He is defending his seat on a United Democratic Alliance Party.

Content created and supplied by: Tapdiltich (via Opera News )

Alfred Kiptaro Kerich Belgut Belgut Constituency Frank Ruto Wesly Rono


Load app to read more comments