Sign in
Download Opera News App

News Politics




Africa politics

Azimio la Umoja Dealt Another Blow as Independent Elected MPs Join Kenya Kwanza

Photo: President elect William Ruto with a section of independent candidates

Raila Odinga's Azimio la Umoja coalition has yet again been dealt a big blow as Independent elected Mps join the Kenya Kwanza coalition.

Taking to his social media Facebook page,President Elect William Ruto applauded nine independent candidates for joining his camp and believing in a Bottom-Up economic agenda.

The Mps included Joshua Mbithi (Masinga), Njoroge Elijah (Gatundu North), Caroline Ngelechei (Elgeyo Markwet), Rahim Dawood (Imenti North), Timothy Kipchumba (Markwet West), Ntutu Kitilai (Narok South), and Monica Muthoni (Lamu Woman Rep.)

"Implementing the Bottom-Up Economic agenda will require a bi-partisan approach in legislation. It is because of this that we are grateful to MPs elected on Independent tickets who have committed to work with Kenya Kwanza," reads part of Ruto's post

Barely a day ago,Martha Karua asked President elect William Ruto to respect the constitution.

Ms Karua explained that the Political Parties Act, under which coalitions are built, have very clear stipulations that guide movement of individuals from political coalitions.

"So for the deputy president to start wooing people, enticing them to leave a coalition without the requisite legal provisions, it's either a display of impunity or gross ignorance of the law of the land," she added.

Content created and supplied by: Brianv35 (via Opera News )

Elgeyo Markwet Joshua Mbithi Masinga Ntutu Kitilai Timothy Kipchumba


Load app to read more comments