Sign in
Download Opera News App

News Politics




Africa politics

Azimio Leaders Who Have Joined William Ruto's Kenya Kwanza Camp To Weaken The Opposition Side.

After William Somoei Ruto was announced as the winner of the presidential election that took place on 9th August general elections, he said that he is not ready for a handshake and that he wants a strong opposition that will be checking on the government. However, since then he has been welcoming Azimio leaders, elected Azimio and former members and independent candidates to his camp.

It is a move that political analyses have pointed as a major way to weaken opposition so that they can't have enough power to put the government on toes. The major strategies that the president is using to destroy Azimio so that he can weaken the opposition is inviting all the regional kingpins in his camp.

So far, he has welcomed DEP party led by their leader Kiraitu Murungi, MDG party led by their leader, David Ochieng, UDM party led by their leader Ali Roba and other Azimio members from various Parties.

In total, key Azimio leaders who have joined Mr Ruto’s camp since announcement of results of the August 9 presidential poll include former Kisii governor James Ongwae, Kiraitu Murungi, Kivutha Kibwana ,Tiaty MP William Kamket, Ugenya MP David Ochieng and Mandera senator Ali Roba.

Others are former Transport CAS and Jubilee party member Chris Obure, former Kisii Woman rep Janet Ong’era, ex-MPs Jimmy Angwenyi of Kitutu Chache North, Richard Tong'i of Nyaribari Chache, Ben Momanyi of Borabu, Manson Nyamweya of South Mugirango and Zadock Ogutu of Bomachoge Borabu.

They all abandoned Mr Odinga and joined the Kenya Kwanza camp. It is a move that has weakened opposition in a big way. However, the likes of Wycliffe Oparanya, Kalonzo Musyoka and Martha who have all spoken says that they will conduct the opposition roles. They believe it is strong enough to put the government on toes.

What are your views on this?

Content created and supplied by: Njoro-Msanii (via Opera News )

Ali Roba Azimio David Ochieng Kiraitu William Somoei Ruto


Load app to read more comments