Sign in
Download Opera News App

News Politics




Africa politics

National Assembly Recommends Suspension Of Cherera Four

National Assembly recommends suspension of four IEBC commissioners dubbed Cherera four and formation of tribunal to investigate their conduct for gross violation of constitution.

The fate of the embattled four electoral commissioners now lies with President Ruto after lawmakers approved their removal from office.

The National Assembly voted Thursday night-after extending sittings beyond the normal time-to adopt a committee report that recommended for their ejection.

The four are Vice Chairperson Juliana Cherera, Justus Nyang’aya, Francis Wanderi and Irine Masit.

They are also accused of conspiring with top national security officials to alter the election results in favour of Azimio la Umoja One Kenya coalition contender Raila Odinga and trigger a run-off.

They also filed affidavits at the Supreme Court, distancing themselves from the results in the presidential election petition filed by Azimio la Umoja coalition, challenging President William Ruto’s win.

Article 251 of the Constitution states that Parliament will consider the petitions and if satisfied, the Speaker will send it to President Ruto to form a tribunal to investigate the commissioners.

Content created and supplied by: allay (via Opera News )

Cherera IEBC Irine Masit Justus Nyang National Assembly


Load app to read more comments