Sign in
Download Opera News App

News Politics




Africa politics

Petition Lodged For Removal Of Four IEBC Commissioners In Parliament

A petition has been filled at the Parliament seeking the removal of four Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission commissioners wik have been accused of gross misconduct and incompetence.

The commissioners are Juliana Cherera, Francis Mathenge Wanderi, Justus Ngang'aya and Irene Cherono. They rejected presidential election results which were declared in favour of William Ruto on Monday, August 15 by IEBC chairman Wafula Chebukati.

According to the petition filed by two lawyers, John Wangai and Kevin Kiarie, they want the four commissioners removed from office for violating the Constitution, Election laws and other enabling provisions of the laws.

"That in accordance with article 119 which encapsulates that every person has the right to petition Parliament to consider any matter within it's authority, the honourable house should intiate removal from office proceedings against the four IEBC commissioners in accordance with Article 251 and 88 on grounds of serious violation of the Constitution of Kenya 2010, the Election Act 2011, the IEBC Act 2011, the elections laws (amendment) Act 2016, Election Offences Act 2016, the Political Parties Act 2011 and all other enabling provisions of the law, gross misconduct and incompetence," the lawyers stated.

The petitioners further stated that the four commisioners are not a threat to the legality of the results as announced by the IEBC Chairman Wafula Chebukati.

Content created and supplied by: @TheInformant (via Opera News )

Francis Mathenge Wanderi John Wangai Juliana Cherera Justus Ngang'aya Wafula Chebukati


Load app to read more comments