Sign in
Download Opera News App

News Politics




Africa politics

List of MPs Who Have Served Upto 25 Years as Kenyan MPs Reject Proposal to Limit Their Terms to Two

It has emerged that one Member of Parliament has served as long as 25 years consecutively without being defeated.

According to the Star newspaper, Kitutu Chache Constituency Member of Parliament Honourable Jimmy Angwenyi has served for five good terms which is equivalent to 25 years in parliament.

Other Members of Parliament who have served the longest are Kapenguria Constituency's Samuel Moroto, Maina Kamanda who is a nominated Member of Parliament, Adan Keynan who represents Eldas Constituency, Gideon Konchella from Kilgoris, Maoka Maore who is the MP Igembe North, Cecily Mbarire former Runyenjes constituency Member of Parliament and currently nominated, Judah Katoo Ole Metito from Kajiado South Constituency, Naomi Shabban from Taita Taveta and Wafula Wamunyinyi from Kanduyi all who have done four terms each.

This comes at a time when the current Members of Parliament have already rejected a proposal to have their term limited to only two terms like that of the Head of State president Uhuru Kenyatta.

They noted that the proposal was baseless since the election of a Member of Parliament was at the discretion of the common mwananchi who had the final decision on how long a Member of Parliament should serve.

He had proposed that the sane should be applied to the Deputy President William Ruto and all subsequent office holders as well as both speakers of the National Assembly and the Senate.

The law would have also affected the offices being held by all the 47 deputy governors in the country incase it got accepted by the Members of Parliament.

Content created and supplied by: J.M. (via Opera News )

Adan Keynan Jimmy Angwenyi Kitutu Chache Maina Kamanda Maoka Maore


Load app to read more comments