Sign in
Download Opera News App

News Politics




Africa politics

Names Of Ruto's 3 Allies That He's Picked To Join Assumption Of Office Committee

As he prepares to take over from President Uhuru Kenyatta as Kenya's Head of State, President-elect William Ruto has finally named three people that will be joining the Assumption Of Office of President Committee.

President-elect Ruto who seems not to be worried about a possible Presidential petition challenging his win by the Azimio camp has named the Uasin Gishu County Woman Representative Gladys Shollei, UDA party Secretary General Veronica Maina and National Assembly speaker Justin Muturi as his representatives.

The three will be joining the Joseph Kinyua-led committee to work towards a smooth transition and hand-over of power from President Uhuru Kenyatta to William Ruto.

Among other roles, the Assumption of Office of President Committee is tasked with facilitating the handing over of power by the outgoing President to the President-elect, organizing of Security for the President-elect, coordinating briefings of the President-elect by relevant public officers and facilitating communication between the outgoing President and the President-elect.

Other members of the committee include Attorney-General Kihara Kariuki, Interior Cabinet Secretary Fred Matiang’i, Interior PS Karanja Kibicho, Treasury PS Julius Muia, Foreign Affairs PS Amb. Macharia Kamau, Information PS Esther Koimett, Devolution PS Micah Powon and PS Jospheta Mukhobe of Heritage and Culture.

The appointment of the three comes a day after President Uhuru Kenyatta assuring church leaders and Kenyans at large that the transition will be smooth.

That his administration will make sure that peace prevails during that period and he hopes that the same will be maintained by the subsequent administration.

Content created and supplied by: AustineBarasa (via Opera News )

Fred Matiang Joseph Kinyua-led Justin National Assembly Veronica Maina


Load app to read more comments