Sign in
Download Opera News App

News Politics




Africa politics

3 Mount Kenya MPs Who Have Resisted Any Attempt to Dump Uhuru For Ruto

President Uhuru Kenyatta ( Photo Courtesy)

With Mount Kenya region emerging as the key battleground between President Uhuru Kenyatta and Deputy President William Ruto, a good number of MPs from the vote-rich block have crossed over to the DP's camp.

Kiambu Women Representative Gathoni Wamuchomba was the latest to cross over to the "Hustler Nation" camp, leaving the President in utter disbelief.

However, amid all this, the Head of State banks on three of his most loyal supporters in his bid to keep Ruto at bay in the battle for Mount Kenya.

One of these loyal MPs is Kieni lawmaker Kanini Kega, who has emerged as an unapologetic Uhuru supporter in the region that appears to be warming to Ruto.

Just recently, Kega was among Uhuru's trusted allies who met him at State House ahead of the Kiambaa constituency by-election.

In the National Assembly, Kega is the chairman of the powerful Budget and Appropriations Committee.

Then there is Nyeri Town MP Ngunjiri Wambugu.

The outspoken MP doesn't take it easy when it comes to defending the President. And when necessary, he never hesitates to fire salvos at the DP and his camp.

Wambugu was also in the latest State House meeting which was hosted by the President.

Murang'a Women Representative Sabina Chege ( Photo Courtesy)

Murang'a Women Representative Sabina Chege is another diehard Uhuru supporter whose support for the Head of State cannot be questioned.

A loyal member of the Jubilee Party, Chege has the President's ear and never has kind words for the Deputy President and his political camp.

Going to the next general election, the President will always count on these three MPs. It quite unthinkable that they will one day abandon Uhuru for Ruto.

Content created and supplied by: LarryKatana (via Opera News )

Gathoni Wamuchomba Kanini Kega Mount Kenya National Assembly


Load app to read more comments