Sign in
Download Opera News App

News Politics




Africa politics

Breaking: One of the Four IEBC Commissioners Resigns Hours After Ruto Formed Tribunal

Justus Nyang'aya, one of the embattled ‘Cherera four’ IEBC Commissioners, has now resigned from the electoral body.

This comes hours after President William Ruto formally suspended him alongside IEBC Vice Chairperson Juliana Cherera as well as fellow Commissioners Irene Masit and Francis Wanderi.

Nyang’aya, in a subsequent letter addressed to President Ruto on Friday, expressed gratitude for his time in the commission which allowed him to serve the country.

The members of the tribunal that will investigate the controversial four Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commissioners were sworn in by lady Justice Martha Koome who is the Chief Justice and the president of the Supreme Court of Kenya.

Among them is the chairperson of the tribunal renown judge Justice Aggrey Muchelule and top advocate of the High Court f Kenya Carolyne Kamende Daudi.

"It's all systems go, Justice Aggrey Otysula Muchelule confers with Carolyne Kamende Daudi at the Supreme Court of Kenya, @CJMarthaKoome to preside over the swearing-in of the tribunal shortly."

Justice Aggrey Muchelule will chair a nine-member team that will investigate suspended IEBC commissioners Juliana Cherera, Irene Masit, Francis Wanderi and Justus Nyang’aya.

Other Members of the tribunal are, Mathew Njaramba Nyabena and Col. (Retired) Saeed Khamis with the jhe joint secretaries are Kibet Kirui Emmanuel and Irene Tunta Nchoe.

The tribunal is required to expeditiously conclude the hearing and report of its findings which are binding with the President expected to act on them within 30 days.

Content created and supplied by: JNews.KE (via Opera News )

Cherera IEBC Independent Justus Nyang'aya Nyang


Load app to read more comments