Sign in
Download Opera News App

News Politics




Africa politics

List of Uhuru Diehard MPs Who Skipped Raila's Mt Kenya Tour

The scramble for Mt Kenya votes is on a higher gear and most presidential candidates are camping in the region on a mission to try and win the hearts of the voters.

Raila Odinga and William Ruto are among the presidential front line contenders who have made several visits in the region. For the last two days, the former prime minister has been camping in Mt Kenya East to sell the agenda of his 'Azimio la Umoja' campaigns.

Since the 2018 handshake between president Uhuru Kenyatta and Raila Odinga, the UhuRuto ties begun to fade away. Uhuru started to throw his weight behind Odinga and the politicians who align themselves with his agenda followed suite.

It was therefore expected that legislators who subscribe to president Uhuru's political leaning would accompany the ODM boss in his Mt Kenya tour.

Contrary to these expectations, only less than 10 MPs from Mt Kenya region escorted Raila to Meru, Tharaka Nithi and Embu counties. Igembe North MP, Maoka Maore, led Mt Kenya East MPs in escorting Odinga while Kieni MP, Kanini Kega, led Mt Kenya West lawmakers.

Among the popular Kieleweke parliamentarians who were not expected to miss in Raila's convoy include; Sabina Chege - Women Rep Murang'a county, Wanjiku Kibe - MP Gatundu North, Ngunjiri Wambugu - MP Nyeri Town, Peter Kimari - MP Mathioya, Peter Mwathi - MP Limuru, Jude Njomo - MP Kiambu Town, Mary Waithira - MP Maragua, Waihenya Ndirangu - MP Roysambu, Mercy Gakuya - MP Kasarani, Jeremiah Kioni - MP Ndaragwa, Amos Kimunya - MP Kipipiri, Nduati Ngugi - MP Gatanga, Wachira Kabinga - MP Mwea, among others.

The group has been saying that it will follow the political direction that will be given by president Uhuru Kenyatta. Some of these legislators accompanied Raila to Nanyuki some few weeks ago while a section of them met Raila at Serena hotel. It is still not clear why they skipped the Meru visit by Odinga.

Nyeri Governor Mutahi Kahiga, Murang'a Governor Mwangi Wa Iria, Kiambu Governor James Nyoro and Kirinyaga Governor Anne Waiguru are also some of the politicians aligned to president Uhuru who skipped Odinga's visit.

Share your thoughts.

Content created and supplied by: The_Updater (via Opera News )

Igembe North Mt Kenya East Raila Odinga Uhuru Kenyatta William Ruto


Load app to read more comments