Sign in
Download Opera News App

News Politics




Africa politics

4 Powerful Women Politicians In Dp Ruto's Camp Who Will Contest For Gubernatorial Seats In 2022

The date for 2022 general is just a year and 3 months away and several politicians across the country have declared interest for specific political seats. All elective seats have attracted at least one aspirant.

The gender issue in leadership is a conversation that is attracting attention and focus from a socioeconomic and political dimension. In the past, men have been dominating political leadership positions. However, the situation has gradually changed whereby women are successfully fighting for their space and ensuring that their voices are heard.

In Kenya, the constitution gives women opportunities to contest for leadership positions in almost all aspects of the society. Also, women can be appointed or elected to a number of political and administrative posts in the society.

Unlike previous gubernatorial elections, more women have shown interest in the same in 2022 general elections.

In deputy president Dr William Ruto's camp, 4 women politicians have declared their interests for 2022 gubernatorial seats in their respective counties. Among them include:

1) Susan Kihika - Nakuru senator

Susan Kihika is currently representing Nakuru county in Senate. She was entered politics in 2013 where she won a Member of County Assembly (MCA) seat and subsequently elected as Nakuru County Assembly Speaker.

She later contested for Nakuru senatorial seat in 2017 where she trounced the incumbent James Kiarie Mungai on a Jubilee ticket, in both primaries and general elections.

The lawmaker is one of the fanatics of Dr Ruto. She has vowed to unseat governor Lee Kinyanjui in 2022 polls.

2) Wangui Ngirici - Kirinyaga Women MP

Wangui Ngirici entered politics in 2017 by contesting for Kirinyaga women representative seat. She emerged victorious.

She is among the deputy president's footsoldiers who would crisscross the country campaigning for his 2022 presidential bid.

The Women MP wants to dethrone governor Anne Waiguru through election in 2022.

3) Cecil Mbarire - Nominated MP

Cecil Mbarire was nominated by the ruling party Jubilee to represent special interests in Parliament in 2017.

She is Dr Ruto's diehard. She aspires to be the next Embu governor after the incumbent Martin Wambora retires in 2022.

4) Aisha Jumwa Katana - Malindi

Aisha Jumwa Katana was elected to Parliament in 2017 on an Orange Democratic Movement (ODM) party ticket to represent Malindi constituency in Kilifi county.

She ditched ODM for deputy president Dr William Ruto's in 2017 where she is planning to succeed governor Amason Kingi in 2022 gubernatorial poll.

Content created and supplied by: Tororey (via Opera News )

Dp Ruto Kenya


Load app to read more comments