Sign in
Download Opera News App

News Politics




Africa politics

Flags Of East African Countries And Their Meaning

Every country in the world has its flag. Those flags are designed in colors symbolizing their identity, values, believes, and history in different ways.

We will look into East African countries, Kenya, Uganda, Tanzania, Rwanda, and Burundi.


The flag comprises black, red, green, and white stripes, with a traditional Maasai shield and white spear at the center.

The flag was adopted on 12 December 1963. The black color represents the people red represents the bloodshed during the colonial period, green is a natural wealth that's it's found in agriculture, while white represents peace.

The defense of Kenyan freedom is in the Maasai shield and spear.


It consists of six equal sizes of alternating horizontal stripes of colors, black, yellow, and red. At the center of the flag, there is a crested crane bird in a white circle.

The black color represents the African people, red represents brotherhood, and yellow symbolizes the sun. The crested crane is the Ugandan national symbol adopted during the British colonial period.


The flag was adopted in June 1964. It consists of black diagonal lines with fine yellow edges that divide it in half, with the upper left part painted green and the lower right is blue.

Black represents the Swahili culture, with yellow representing the countries mineral wealth, blue represents the region of great lakes and the Indian Ocean, green represents the vegetation and agricultural resources of the land. 


Their flag consists of three colors, light blue, which represents peace and happiness. The second color is yellow, which symbolizes national economic development, green symbolizes hope for prosperity. There is a sun emblem at the top right of the flag, symbolizing enlightenment.


They adopted the flag after gaining independence in march 1967. It consists of a white satire that divides the flag into alternating red and green areas. The center merges into a white disk on which there are three stars outlined in green.

The green color symbolizes hope, white piece and red represent those who died while struggling for the countries independence.

The three stars represent the three major ethnic groups of Burundi, the Hutu, Twa, and Tutsi. It also stands for the three elements of the nation's motto unity, work, and progress.

Content created and supplied by: Kenyan_Hub (via Opera News )

East African Kenya Rwanda Tanzania Uganda


Load app to read more comments