Sign in
Download Opera News App

News Politics




Africa politics

Meet The Only 2 Politicians Who Have Ever Been Elected in Mt Kenya Using ODM Tickets

Since its formation during the 2007 General Elections, the Orange Democratic Movement (ODM) has stood the test of time.

For the past 3 elections, the party has managed to maintain its status as a national political party. Despite its national status, the ODM party and its candidates have been termed as unsellable in some parts of Kenya, including the larger Mt Kenya region.

However, during the 2013 elections, two politicians from the Mt Kenya region were elected MPs on ODM tickets. The two politicians are:

Laurence Mpuru Aburi

Laurence Mpuru Aburi was elected on an ODM ticket as a member of parliament for Tigania East Constituency, Meru County in 2013.

He beat nine other candidates to clinch the seat. Currently, he represents Kenya at the East African Legislative Assembly (EALA)

Cyprian Kiringo Kubai

Cyprian Kiringo Kubai of Orange Democratic Movement won the Igembe Central parliamentary seat during the 2013 General Elections. He beat seven other candidates, including James Mithika Ntonga of the then TNA (The National Alliance).

Upto date, Mr. Mpuru Aburu and Kiringo Kubai still remains the only politicians to have won elective posts in the larger Mt. Kenya region using ODM.

Content created and supplied by: KingMswati (via Opera News )

General Elections Laurence Mpuru Aburi Meru County Mt Kenya ODM


Load app to read more comments