Sign in
Download Opera News App

News Politics




Africa politics

Musalia Mudavadi and Justin Muturi gets disqualified from the presidential race in August

The electron beams have barred 11 candidates from standing for the presidency on August 9 because they failed to submit the names of their running partners by the May 16 due date.

Among them are Musalia Mudavadi of the ANC, National Assembly Speaker Justin Muturi, and Lengala David William of the Jirani Mzalendo party.

Eight independents were also eliminated.

Mbugua Benson Mwaura, Kihuha Esther Waringa, Aoko Benard Ongir, Odhiambo Kevin Onyango, Ndekerere Joseph Kundu, Ngechu Moses Gichuki, Katoni Benjamin Kevin Ndambuki, and Nyagoko Jacob Oanda are also the participants.

IEBC chairwoman Wafula Chebukati stated yesterday at a consultative meeting with presidential hopefuls and their supporters that they are operating with timelines.

Chebukati stated that Mudavadi as well as Muturi had been disqualified since they had already submitted their information to the polling board before endorsing Deputy President William Ruto's candidacy.

To allow the panel to serve to protect the elections, all candidates for president had expected to submit the names of their running partners by the May 16 due date.

Chebukati stated that contestants will not be allowed to submit the names of their running mates with less than three months to go till the election.

He stated that they are currently at the authentication phase, in which all presidential candidates must collect 2,000 signatures from supporters in at least 24 counties before being allowed to run.

"Once the board has completed the verification of the supporters, where there is a gap in credentials, the candidates would be given fair time to obtain the additional signatures."

"They would be banned from competing if the date has passed before they submit the signatures," Chebukati stated.

The election commission had required presidential candidates to present 2,000 signatures of registered voters who supported their aspirations for the highest position by Monday, May 23.

The signatures are required to be accompanied by the supporters' identities, initials, and a duplicate of personal identity documents or card details.

The IEBC announced last week that 55 candidates for president have met the May 16, 2022, deadline for submitting their names and those of their respective running mates.

According to Chebukati, the contenders comprise one partnership party candidate, 14 political group candidates, and 40 independent candidates.


Content created and supplied by: Cephasbill (via Opera News )

Lengala David William Mbugua Benson Mwaura Musalia Mudavadi Nyagoko Jacob Oanda Wafula Chebukati


Load app to read more comments