Sign in
Download Opera News App

News Politics




Africa politics

Live: IEBC Chairperson Wafula Chebukati Lists Successful 2022 Presidential Candidates

Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission chairperson Wafula Chebukati lists 2022 successful presidential candidates.

This comes barely hours after the Commission revokes Walter Mong'are's clearance certificate over degree hitch.

Jimi Wanjigi of Safina Party was also disqualified from the August 9, 2022 presidential race over lack of a Bachelor’s degree.

It is a key requirement that any presidential aspirant eyeing the top office must be a holder of at least an undergraduate degree from a popular university.

Today Monday, June 6, the Independent polls body turned down the application of Mr Wanjigi barring him from contesting for presidency in the forthcoming August General Election, citing lack of adequate academic credentials.

The exercise comprises of verification of Identification credentials to determine whether the aspirant is a Kenyan citizen.

Among the top contenders cleared by IEBC were;

Azimio La Umoja One Kenya presidential candidate Raila Odinga.

The ODM Party leader and his presidential deputy Martha Karua got the IEBC nod to run for presidency on Sunday after submitting his documents before the Independent polls body's chairman Wafula Chebukati at the Bomas of Kenya.

Dr Ruto also got the IEBC nod together with his deputy Rigathi Gachagua at the Bomas of Kenya on Friday last week.

IEBC chairman Wafula Chebukati confirmed the duo met the set standards spelt out to them by the commission.

Other presidential candidates who have since been cleared to vie for presidency are, Roots Party boss George Wajackoyah, Mr Walter Mong’are of Umoja Summit Party and Mr David Mwaura Waihiga of Agano party.

Content created and supplied by: allay (via Opera News )

Commission IEBC Safina Party Wafula Chebukati Wanjigi


Load app to read more comments